This is Calcutta, Bohemia is dead.

10Mar13

NEVAR!!! (And super theater nerd kudos to those of you who got the reference! … Extended double super nerd kudos to those of you who got the “ar” reference as well. Banana stickers will be handed out at the end of class.)

Image

I love boho stuff. When I was a wee likkle tomboy, a girl just a couple years older than me moved into my neighborhood.  Her name was Sally and from 8-13 she exposed me to a lot of firsts: she’s the first ever vegetarian I knew, her house smelled like tomato sauce and pot (though I didn’t know that was the smell until MUCH later in life,) she showed me how to log in to my first ever chat room and this is like, pre-AOL library blue screen chatting I’m talkin’ about here – AND – more eclectic types of music than my limited exposure to my brother’s Whitesnake and my parent’s Barry Manilow and the Beach Boys tapes gave. We were insta-bestfrands!  Among my little ponies, lip gloss, Tori Amos and other fineries that remind me of my childhood bestie, I can draw very distinct lines from my love of long hippie skirts and unapologetic nerd pride to my Silly Sally.  I feel like given enough privacy and proximity, 20(ish) years later we’d still be dancing around in borrowed stoles and gloves singing Material Girl.

With Sally as the inspiration, this look was a total no-brainer.  The aqua eyeshadow and bright pink lips on the WCF2 Exclusive Belleza skin mirror the dress gradient perfectly. The only thing I would change, and will as soon as I find some more poses I like, is the shoes.  Don’t get me wrong, I freaking LOVE Latreia shoes, but I wanted to use my much grungier (and newer!) WOLF&I Steel-Toed Kickers. While Sally offered a young me new perspective on feminine boho beauty, I would have to add a heavy posture collar and combat boots to make it my own.  Unfortunately the mechanics of such a pretty long mesh dress made said boots poke through with at least two of my stands.  So much like when we all made specific AOs to fit our sculpted couture, I am now on the hunt for stands that will let my butchy boots co-exist with my pretty princess dresses.

My look:

  • Skin- Belleza: Amy SK WCF 0 *Whore Couture Fair 2*
  • Hair- LeLutka: Vibrato in MarilynBluFade *NEW mesh!*
  • Dress- Aura: Summer Fun Maxi Dress in Twilight *@TDR*
  • Eyes- IKON: Lucid Eyes in Optimism *GG*
  • Shoes- Latreia: Anise Black

-ACCESSORIES:

  1. Mandala: Steking ears ver3
  2. Red Mint: Posture collar No. 02 & Silver Rings
  3. Damned: Liquid Liner in + out up
  4. Izzie’s: Glossy Lip Highlights 3D
  5. Ellabella: Kerli V1 (face piercings)
  6. Ploom: Lashes 6
  7. Glow Studio: Indian Summer Earrings in Phoenix 04
  8. Virtual Insanity: Influenzae Piercings Set #2 (under eye studs)
  9. Miel: Friendo bracelet
  10. Chop Zuey: Pocahontas necklace
  11. Jamman: Ultra Mesh Fingernails rigged V3
No Responses Yet to “This is Calcutta, Bohemia is dead.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Moka's Way

Styling since 2010

Carol's Style

Since January 2010

.suicide smock.

Everyone dies. Every single person. So style matters.

parthenoid

fashion | opinions | second life

JuicyBomb Second Life Fashion Blog

Launched in 2007, JuicyBomb is a Second Life fashion blog featuring reviews, tutorials, and events coverage.

StrawberrySingh.com

A fashion and lifestyle blog about the virtual world of Second Life

Vicio SL

fashion | opinions | second life

♥ A L T E R E G O ♥

by Toxxic Rhiannyr

